A data company calls Saudi Arabia’s win over Argentina the biggest World Cup upset.

Argentina won the World Cup in 1978 and 1986, but in Qatar 2022, it made history in a different manner.

Although Argentina has won the World Cup twice, in 1978 and 1986, La Albiceleste made history in Qatar in 2022 in a very different fashion.
The 2-1 loss by Saudi Arabia to Argentina in their Group C encounter, according to the sports data company Gracenote, is the greatest shock in World Cup history.

A data company calls Saudi Arabia’s win over Argentina the biggest World Cup upset.

With 48 places separating Argentina and Saudi Arabia in the global rankings, many had anticipated Argentina, led by third-ranked Lionel Messi, to easily defeat Saudi Arabia. Argentina has been undefeated for three years and is one of the favorites to win the 2022 tournament.
Messi, one of the all-time best players, who is likely playing in his last World Cup, was the subject of all pre-game discussion.

The captain of Argentina gave his team an early advantage with a penalty kick, but two goals in the second half from Saleh Al-Shehri and Salem Al-Dawsari changed the course of the match.

Al Dawsari’s amazing goal from a distance and the ensuing acrobatic celebration will go down in World Cup history as one of the most memorable moments of this or any World Cup.
The previous most unexpected World Cup victory, according to Gracenote, was the USA’s triumph against England in 1950, a game in which the American side had a 9.5% chance of winning.

The Green Falcons now hold the top slot, though, since Saudi Arabia’s chances of winning on Tuesday are assessed at 8.7%.

According to Gracenote, it utilizes its “unique football rating algorithm” to determine the most unexpected shocks throughout the history of the legendary 92 years of the World Cup.

But what other major surprises did the World Cup see?

Italy 1990: Cameroon 1-0 Argentina

At the 1986 World Cup, Diego Maradona stunned the world with a string of outstanding individual displays that helped Argentina win its second championship.

Four years later, Italy hosted the event, and Maradona entered the World Cup fresh off of leading the Italian team Napoli to a legendary Serie A triumph.

In the first game of Italia 90, Argentina faced a Cameroon squad that had just recalled Roger Milla, then 38 years old and out of the Indomitable Lions for three years after being eliminated from that year’s Africa Cup of Nations in the group stages.

Maradona was effectively fouled by Cameroon every time the Argentine wizard touched the ball since they wouldn’t let him play; as a result, the African side finished the game with only nine men.

Francois Omam-header Biyik’s performance in the second half, though, was sufficient to give Cameroon a renowned triumph.

Japan vs. South Korea in 2002: Senegal 1-0 France

France won the World Cup on home soil in 1998, defeating Brazil 3-0 in the championship match. The following year, France won Euro 2000, and it was widely expected that France would win the World Cup again in South Korea and Japan.

Japan vs. South Korea in 2002: Senegal 1-0 France

The first matchup for France was against a Senegal team playing in its first World Cup.

It was clear that the former French colony was ready for the match. Senegal attacked its highly anticipated opponent with legendary players like El Hadji Diouf, Khalilou Fadiga, and current Teranga Lions head coach Aliou Cisse.

Despite Diouf’s outstanding performance, Senegal’s shocking victory was secured by the unheralded Papa Bouba Diop, who scrambled in the game’s lone goal.

The defending champion, France, finished last in its group and was unable to advance to the knockout rounds, making the situation even worse for them.

Algeria defeated West Germany in 1982 in Spain.

Algeria, a newcomer from Africa, faced up against West Germany in a World Cup group that would forever alter the tournament.

Due to their dominance in the qualifying rounds, West Germany entered the game as one of the tournament favorites. Jupp Derwall, the team’s manager, declared that if they lost, he would “jump on the first train back to Munich.”

Derwall’s conceit was vindicated when an unheard-of Algerian squad defeated West Germany.

Rabah Madjer gave the North Africans the lead in the 54th minute, and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge equalized 13 minutes later. Algeria, though, immediately took the lead again after the kickoff by running up the opposite end of the field.

Despite the notable victory, Algeria would not advance past the group stage, in part because West Germany defeated Austria 1-0, advancing both European teams while eliminating Algeria.

The World Cup’s final group matches have been held concurrently since the “Disgrace of Gijón.”

1950 in Brazil: USA 1-0 England

Football had been fully professional in England for many years prior to the 1950 World Cup in Brazil, but this was the English team’s first appearance at a World Cup as they elected not to participate in the previous three tournaments.

An American team made up of semi-pro and amateur athletes, including a grave digger, a dishwashing machine, and a postman, faced off against England.

But those amateurs managed to pull off the first major World Cup upset when Joe Gaetjens’ glancing header near the end of the first half was sufficient to give the US an incredible victory.

From Haotees

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − nine =